Daily Draw; 31/7/11, Meneghello Besançon

So my holidays have ended and I’m feeling a little listless and sad. All too soon I shall be back at work (and find the thought, naturally, a little overwhelming) so cannot resist a little Sunday night spread. Something made me grab my Meneghello Besançon deck (a limited edition of an early 19th Century Besançon deck), a deck often held at arm’s length by tarot lovers because – Oh the horror – it has Juno and Jupiter instead of Papesse and Pope. So I grabbed my Besançon and walked round the house shuffling; “what awaits me? What awaits me?” These are the cards I drew. No particular position.Turning over Death is, of course, always a little startling but I shall come to that presently. I am, however, always heartened to see the King of Wands when reading for myself, especially in a spread regarding work. I always see the King of Wands as one who commands by charisma. There is none of the sharpness and domineering force of the King of Swords, there’s an implicit gentleness and warmth and yet a strong desire to do one’s very best. The King of Wands gets things done by charm and flair, not by simply ordering others about. I hope that’s me. In fact, I shall assume it’s me as – vanity apart –  I cannot see any other possible figure that it could be in the foreseeable future. Plus I am in a position of management. So we have the King of Wands flanked by Death and The Star. As of this week I shall be working in a new place so I am hoping that this is literally the leaving behind of old ways, the previous position, out with the old, in with the new. What awaits me will be nothing like what I am used to. I can relate to that. Things are going to be different from now on. I am intrigued by how the scythe of the grim reaper echoes the wand of the King. With a sweep of the wand I break with the past. Then the Star will shine. This is always a comforting card to see. Optimism always comes to mind, and I think that may well be the case with where I am right now. What awaits me? Optimism? Hopefully good things at any rate. Hopefully serenity. Hopefully hope. The King is facing Death and away from the kneeling figure in The Star (how odd; there is no bird in the tree like there usually is). Maybe he is looking to the past and she looks to the future. I think I can go with that. Anyway, I shall take comfort in The Star. I think there is no better card to see when we are feeling a little melancholy.

About Le Fanu

Tarot collector in a far off land; loves ghost stories, magick, tarot, wistfulness, spookiness, Victorian spiritism, ectoplasm...
This entry was posted in Decks of the week / cards of the day, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

