Lilac Twilight Lenormand; the heavenly glow of kitschdom

With box and (left) cardback

Lenormand decks; they’re compact, relatively inexpensive (still), user- friendly, esoterically uncluttered and they’re taking over the cartomantic universe. They bring with them that irresistable allure of after-dinner readings in the parlour on windy, mid-19th Century nights. I can never resist a new Lenormand (if it isn’t too twee; but then I find that, if it is, I seem to love it even more) and my latest acquisition, although a bit of a struggle to get hold of, was well worth the wait. It is known as The Lilac Twilight by Berenika and was published in Russia (priced at 870 roubles; not as expensive as it sounds) at the end of last year. A group of us did a bulk order  – not too bulk since it was listed as a “small print run” (I was told 100) – and it took a few months to reach us. I imagined it coming across the Russian plains by troika, sweeping across the ice and coming to a halt at a train station like that one at which Anna Karenina killed herself. All the romance of Russia and its history is in this deck for me. It makes me think of fortune telling, in the French style, for the young ladies launched into Moscow society during Pushkin’s time. Or Natascha’s first ball in War and Peace. Who would her suitor be? These are the cards that would tell us.

The peculiar thing about Lenormands is that, let’s face it, they are all essentially the same; no hugely diverging symbolism and no unnecessary hermetic overlay. In a Lenormand there will always be a heart, a dog, a house, a cross and so on and so forth, so reviews like this have very little to dwell on really. We haven’t reached that stage – as we have in tarot – where creaters start renaming. All the cards are there and they are all unmistakably the symbols they purport to be. However, I immediately recognised that there was a slight inconsistancy throughout the deck in terms of the style of the artwork. It has been taken – mostly – from Old Master paintings and given a lush lilac wash which makes it feel that you are looking at the images through a veil of pinkish half-light from the land of glorious kitschdom.

Many of the images seem to be from 19th Century realist paintings (like the Mice and the Coffin) while others do not feel that they are from this period at all. Quite by chance the other week, while looking for something else entirely in a google image search, I came across the figure from the Man card in an early 20th Century fashion plate. The figure from the Woman card (and Child card) feels positively 1950s to me. So there’s a little jarring going on, but that forgiving pink mist irons it all out and when the cards are all laid out for the Grand Tableau, you feel dizzy with intoxicating mauveness and just don’t care. Such an enchanting deck, such a unique deck. According to the (translated) notes on the website, it takes as its inspiration warm autumn evenings when the sun filters through at twilight and the pinkish light seems a little unreal, and it opens us up to senses and perceptions which might otherwise have gone unnoticed. “The twilight is the crack between the worlds,” says the Castanede quote on the back of the box, “the door to the unknown.”

There were two versions. One had Russian titles, the other (the one I have) has suit symbols in the bottom right hand corner, with a number/court card initial set into the heart, club, spade or diamond. The artist did it as a “Special Author’s Edition for the Aeclectic Tarot Forum”. Apparently she made a mistake with the Birds card in the first printing and attributed it the 9 of clubs thus duplicating the Fox. So a replacement card was sent out (again, hark the troika sleigh-bells as they jingle across the snowy wastelands to catch the express post). This replacement cards is a millimetre larger than the original one so I’m still using the original one until I trim it down. As I don’t use the playing card references it isn’t such a problem for me. This is a very appealing and unusual deck and has such a gentle, romantic atmosphere that I just had to mention it here, even though I have very little else to say about it except the fact that it has me in its thrall. It is printed on very glossy but excellent quality cardstock. The cards scratch easily, but I’m not too worried about that. The cardstock itself will hold up to years of use, of that I am sure. Now please excuse me whilst I lose myself in these heady, violet mists pierced by the rays of the setting Siberian sun. This is a deck that just begs to be asked about Love.

About Le Fanu

Tarot collector in a far off land; loves ghost stories, magick, tarot, wistfulness, spookiness, Victorian spiritism, ectoplasm...
This entry was posted in cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lilac Twilight Lenormand; the heavenly glow of kitschdom

  1. I truly enjoyed your essay on Lenormand! I’ve given up on all cartomancy oracles – except this little miracle… Love it and love the way you present them!

  2. Rana says:

    Beautifully said:)

  3. This is a lovely looking little deck. Nice atmosphere. And very interesting to see the fashion plate where the [handsome] gentleman comes from. I always like seeing the source material.

    PLN

  4. Nina says:

    Wonderful review, Le Fanu.
    It really is such a lovely little deck and I, too, love mine to bits.
    I did as you, btw… kept the ”faulty” Owl in the deck because of the difference in size.

  5. Essjay says:

    Great review. I’m loving this deck too – it just goes to show that sometimes more is more!

  6. Le Fanu says:

    Thanks for all the comments. It really is a wonderful deck. Slightly larger than your average Lenormand I think, but well worth making table space and doing the Grand Tableau with.

  7. Carla says:

    It’s a lovely deck, I hope to get one some day.🙂

  8. Le Fanu says:

    Keep your eyes open, Carla. I’m sure one will come your way!

  9. How does someone buy these cards? I looked all over the net but could not find a set for purchase.

    • Le Fanu says:

      Can’t help I’m afraid. There was group of us and with the site being in Russian, I’m not sure I could have done it alone. Safety in numbers! Not sure what to suggest… (sorry)

  10. Anna says:

    Thanks for sharing! I didn’t know this deck. Next week I’m going to russia to visit my grandmother and I’ll put these cards on my buylist.

  11. I would love one of these decks. I saw my first Lenormand deck at Readers Studio in New York City, and it was this deck! I fell instantly in love with it. Any chance of my being able to get one?

    • Le Fanu says:

      Can’t help you there I’m afraid. All I heard was that there might be another edition towards the end of the year, but it would still have to be ordered from Russia, so quite hefty postage I suspect if you’re ordering just one.

  12. Eva says:

    Du you have an adress in Russia, an EMail? I would try to contact the author. Friends of mine are in Moscow in the moment, maybe we have luck?

  13. www.eyew.net says:

    Wonderful website you have here but I was curious
    about if you knew of any message boards that cover the same
    topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

  14. Brigida says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and amazing design.

  15. Hollie says:

    Your style is very unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

  16. Santo says:

    This website truly has all of the information and facts
    I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

